Season 2018

4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

Length (Km) : 7.004

Left turns : 9

Right turns : 11

23 september 2018

The Spa-Francorchamps circuit was built in the early 1920’s using the streets of three villages (Malmedy, Stavelot and Francorchamps) to create a race track in the fabulous Ardennes region. That’s how the Spa-Francorchamps was born.

Automotive, as well motorcycle,  races took place on the 14 kilometre race track. Endurance racing was among the first races to be held with the 24 Hours of Spa in 1924, which was won by Antonio Ascari.

A new 7 kilometre track was inaugurated in 1979. It was more technical with a lot more turns, but also with bigger gravel beds.   It nevertheless continued to be one of the favourite circuits for the drivers as well as for the spectators.

New modifications were done on the track and it’s accommodations in the 2006 and 2007 with the construction of brand new F1 standard boxes. Since it was created in 2012, the World Endurance Championship has held the second race of the year in Spa-Francorchamps (the WEC 6 hours of Spa-Francorchamps), which is classed as the final dress rehearsal for the 24 Hours of Le Mans.